Michael Jackson Xscape

Michael Jackson’s legacy as the King of Pop may be fully assured, but that doesn’t mean there’s no room for it to be expanded.

Epic Records announced Monday that Jackson’s estate is releasing a new album, titled Xscape, May 13, featuring 8 unreleased tracks from the singer’s vaults. Fans can preorder the album starting Tuesday, April 1 (and that’s no joke).

Epic chairman L.A. Reid said that Jackson’s music has been “contemporized” by an all-star slate of producers he believes possess the “gravitas, depth and range to creatively engage with Jackson’s work.”

“Michael left behind some musical performances that we take great pride in presenting through the vision of music producers that he either worked directly with or expressed strong desire to work with.”

According to the press release, Timbaland (Justin Timberlake, Missy Elliott) is “lead” producer on the project, which will also feature contributions by Rodney Jerkins (who produced Jackson’s “You Rock My World”), Stargate (Rihanna, Katy Perry), Jerome “J-Roc” Harmon (Beyonce, Jay-Z) and Jackson estate executor John McClain. The album title comes from a song on the album produced by Jerkins.

Xscape doesn’t mark the first time that Jackson’s music has been updated or reworked to suit current trends. To commemorate the 25th anniversary of Thriller, Jackson enlisted Kanye West, Will.i.am and others to reinvent and remix tracks from the best-seller.

Two versions of the album will be sold: a standard version with the eight tracks announced in the press release, and a Deluxe version which features all of the tracks in their original form, plus an unidentified bonus track, coming to 17 tracks in total.

Keep up with all of the latest news in the world of pop music via The New York Times’ Music Popcast, on FilmOn:

For more streaming TV and movies, visit FilmOn.

Follow TV Mix on Twitter: @tvmixusa

Contact TV Mix: editors@tvmix.com


By admin

Free WordPress Themes